Questions and Answers

Another in a series of Q and A, if you have a question add it in the comments section and it might get answered in the next installment.

Question: Do you know of any manufacturers in Sydney or anywhere in Australia?

Answer: There are lots of great manufacturers in Australia and the more work we can give them the more they can survive. A few places you can search for makers

Yellow Pages try using search terms like garment makers, garment manufacturing, sewers etc. A generic term like maker isn’t enough when searching on a site like the yellow pages you need to be a little bit more specific.

Google can certainly help. Try ticking the Australian pages only section so you don’t have to wade through all the overseas pages as well.

Ragtrader is an industry magazine. It has classified advertisements in the back so you can find makers there (and many patternmakers use those classifieds as well). They also have a directory of all the makers, printers, patternmakers and just about everyone else you’d ever need in the fashion industry. Their website is really bad, hard to navigate and it just took me more than 15 minutes to find the link that told me to buy the Ragtrader directory is $132. In all honesty I’d not bother with the site and just buy the hardcopy of the directory that way you’ve got the book with all the contacts in your hand and you don’t need to navigate a poor website.

4 responses to “Questions and Answers

  1. Thanks for this post – I think figuring out how to go about manufacturing my products is the biggest hurdle for me. I’ve made so many attempts at trying to find garment manufacturers (both Australian and overseas) and although I’ve had some luck, most of the time it’s just been a waste of time. I had also looked at the Ragtrader website thinking I might have better luck there, but no… I’m very pleased to hear that it’s not just me who found it difficult to navigate. Thanks to your post I’ve ordered my copy of the Ragtrader directory today, so here’s hoping I’ll make more progress on that front now!

  2. Hi there,
    I have a Ragtrader Fashion Directory 2010 for sale, because I am leaving the country. I thought some of your students might be interested. I am posting it here because I couldn’t find your email address. You can contact me under this email vesnag@web.de.
    And by the way your blog is very informative. I like reading it.
    Thanks
    Vesna

  3. Hi,

    I love your blog, its such a wealth of information for new designers like me who have not actually studied fashion and design but just following instinct! I have a business question, do you have a template or a specific way of working out expenditure, sales, profit, etc? When a company announces something like ‘ sales reached $200000’ are they adding up the amount the customers paid or are they only adding the profit of each sale minus costs? Thank xx

Leave a Reply

